Board Members

Dr. Banwari Lal, Director & CEO, OTBL
Banwari Lal is currently the Senior Director of the Environmental and Industrial Biotechnology Division working in TERI, New Delhi from July 1989. He coordinates the research activities of Microbial Biotechnology and Plant Biotechnology area at TERI. He is also coordinating the activities of TERI North East Centre. Currently his main areas of research development of clean technology specially Bioremediation of oil spill sites, Microbial Enhanced Oil Recovery, Prevention of paraffin deposition in oil well tubing and flow lines.

He is the recipient of many awards viz.,

  • Tata Innovation Fellowship Award 2009-10 by Department of Biotechnology, Government of India,

  • PetroFed Innovator of the Year -Team Award 2008 -09 for development and commercialization of Microbial enhanced oil recovery technology given by Minister Petroleum & Natural Gas.

  • Biotech Product & Development 2008 by Department of Biotechnology, Government of India.

  • National Research Development Corporation Award, 2005, Ministry of Science and Technology, Government of India.

  • National Bioscience Award for Career Development, 2004-05 (by the Department of Biotechnology, Government of India).

  • Finalist for World Technology Award (by the World Technology Department, California, USA). 2004.

  • National Petroleum Management Programme Award 2002-2003,

  • NEERI Award 2002.

  • Jawarharlal Nehru Memorial National Gold Medal Award 2002.

  • Biotech Product & Process Development for Commercialization Award 2002 by Government of India, New Delhi.

  • All India Biotech Association award 2001 in recognition of achievement in promotion of Biotechnology in the area of Industrial Biotechnology by All India Biotech Association, New Delhi.

He has 8 patents and published 73 research papers in high rated international journals. He is a member of Member, Scientific Panel on food additives, flavourings, processing aids and materials in contact in with food, of the Food Authority of India. Food Safety and Standards Authority of India, Ministry of Health & Family Welfare and also a Member of the Board of ONGC TERI Biotech Ltd.